Fur Trade–comprising of Hot Hot Heat frontman Steve Bays and Parker Bossley of fellow Canadians the Gay Nineties–have released what has been described as “the adventurous second album that Hot Hot Heat never made.”

Don’t Get Heavy, released on Last Gang Records, puts forth a unique and artfully recorded take on electronic music that breaks out of a lot of the genre’s limitations, avoiding the sterility of the manufactured sound that has snared many others.

A self-described extension of hard yacht rock–a variation on ’80s easy listening lounge music–Don’t Get Heavy delivers an effortless sense of energy that is the defining and overarching experience of this unique collection of songs conceived and recorded in Vancouver, B.C. at Bays’ Tugboat Place studio.

Clocking in at just over forty minutes, Don’t Get Heavy isn’t a very long album by experimental music standards, but what the band accomplishes during this time with their exploration of style and intricate songwriting delivers a full bodied and thoroughly satisfying listening experience–pleasure bound indeed.

–Elle Magazine

“Fur Trade have captured the essence of modern alternative music.”
–Sound Of Confusion

“Insanely imaginative and energetic.”
–Velvet Rope 8.5/10

GENRES: Indie Rock Electronic

MASTER: Rock Steady o/b/o Last Gang Records
PUBLISHING:  Street Quality, Wixen

DON’T GET HEAVY (07-23-13)Don't Get Heavy

01. Don’t Get Heavy
02. Kids These Days
03. Voyager
04. Same Temptation
05. Glory Daze
06. In Between Dreams
07. Praying To The Lottery Ticket God
08. Acid Summer
09. Burning The Locals
10. Our Life Starts Now
11. Can You Dig It? (Yes I Can)
12. Pleasure Bound

VOYAGER (REMIXES) (07-23-13)Voyager

01. Voyager
02. Voyager (Radio Edit)
03. Voyager (8-Bit Mix)
04. Voyager (Krusha & Sleepy Tom Remix)