Known for her unusual and welcomed acoustic guitar style, Kaki issues calming New Age–style instrumentals that dynamically launch into space with propulsive emotion with her new companion piece to her multimedia show, The Neck Is A Bridge To The Body which uses projection mapping to present the guitar as an ontological tableau rasa in a creation myth.

The Neck Is A Bridge To The Body follows six studio albums for Kaki, along with appearances on recordings from Tegan and Sara and the Foo Fighters to co-production on songs for Miley Cyrus and Timbaland, as well as contributions to the soundtracks for the feature films Into the Wild (along side Eddie Vedder and composer Michael Brook) and August Rush. Her music has been licensed for the hit television drama House (Fox) and she was the focus of the Gap‘s 2012 “Show Your Colors” campaign (O&M NYC).

Most recently, Kaki composed the original score for one of Variety’s recently praised “13 Breakout Movies of SXSW”Made In Japan, a documentary about Tomi Fujiyama, the first female Japanese country music star.

GENRES: New Age, Experimental, Folk, Jazz, World

MASTER: Rock Steady Music

“There are some guitar players that are good, and there are some guitar players that are really #$%^ing good. And then there’s Kaki King” –Dave Grohl

“King’s evocative performance was a sumptuous feast for the senses, a dizzying display of sound and vision by a guitarist already renowned for her innovation” –The Boston Globe

“…bare, powerful, and propulsive” –KUTX Austin

“In her near-13-year career that’s seen six studio albums and a Golden-Globe nomination for best original score, King has earned critical acclaim for the way she combines unusual tunings, complex fingerstyle picking, and slap bass techniques to create soundscapes that range from instrumental acoustic work to high-voltage rock songs. Now, she’s using her guitar in an entirely new way: as a projection screen.” –The Atlantic


01. In the Beginning
02. Thoughts are Born
03. Notes and Colors
04. Oobleck
05. Anthropomorph
06. The Surface Changes
07. Trying to Speak I (featuring ETHEL)
08. Trying to speak II (featuring ETHEL)
09. It Runs and Breathes
10. Battle is a Learning
11. We Did Not Make The Instrument, The Instrument Made Us


01. Sunrise At Wildflower Hill Retirement Center
02. Zamzam Well
03. Anthem for the Earnest
04. Sad American (live)
05. Tunnel
06. Goby (live featuring Dan Brantigan and Matt Hankle)
07. Waltz For The Alone
08. So Much For So Little (demo)
09. Close To Me (Cover)
10. Hair
11. Brazilian With Drums (featuring Dave Treut)
12. Old Crow and the Miner’s Daughter
13. L Train 1st Ave Low
14. Lovestoned
15. Zeitgeist
16. Meserole (featuring Dave Treut) (Bonus Track)



FEATURED IN: August Rush, House (Fox), Into The Wild (Original Music), Made In Japan (Composer)