Raised on the muddy waters of coastal Americana, Sam Morrow brings a gritty sustenance to his music, evocative of a threadbare soul, decades his elder.

Inspired by the honesty found in the music of such greats as Ray Charles, Johnny Cash, Damien Rice, and David Ramirez, it is from this well that Sam writes. And whereas some pen about pain from a distant perch, Sam has walked through the darkness of self-destruction and addiction to emerge by the grace of second chances to deliver tales of unvarnished realism.

His honest, homespun outlook brings us face-to-face with that which many are afraid to admit. Like the long line of southern songwriters before him, Sam invites audiences along for the ride; the tragedy and triumph. His shows are not performances but immersive experiences for any and all. Humbled by the unflinching realities of recklessness, his stage is a welcome mat.

Ephemeral, produced by Eric Corne (John Mayall, DeVotchKa, KaiL Baxley), opens with the hushed strum and tentative words of “War.” The pursuit of happiness in the face of domestic conflict is embodied in the building tensions between Sam’s incendiary vocal and Freddy Koella’s (Bob Dylan) somber violin. The album then flows to “December”, where the lyrics grapple with the pains and struggles of a long distance relationship, and Sam admits that although he has changed, he is still flawed and love is the companion he desperately needs, as he battles past demons. As with every journey out of darkness, “Sure Thing” carries the record into the light, dwelling on the reality that the greatest joy often follows the most chilling pain. And, if we can just hold on, it’s worth the wait.

GENRES: Singer-Songwriter Folk Americana

MASTER & PUBLISHING: Rock Steady o/b/o Forty Below Records

Ephemeral (04-29-14)ephemeral

01. “War”
02. “Old Soul”
03. “Sure Thing”
04. “Run”
05. “December”
06. “Forever”
07. “14”
08. “Midland”
09. “True North”
10. “Gone”